Internet Society 2016 Elections Committee Final Report to the Board of Trustees

The Elections Committee is happy to present its final report to the Board of Trustees.

The 2016 Internet Society trustee elections had two trustees elected by the Internet Society Organizational Members and one by the Internet Society Chapters. One trustee was selected by the IAB (Internet Architecture Board) for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) by a separate process.

The 2016 Elections Committee comprised Hans Peter Dittler (chairman), Alice Munyua, Tero Mustala (for the Organizational Members), Kris Seeburn (for the Chapters), Sean Turner and Kathy Brown (ex-officio).

Following last year's recommendations the dates for the election-calendar were selected avoiding weekends and holidays as far as possible for start and end dates. Also all critical dates were indicated with clear UTC timing to avoid ambiguities. This year nominations opened on 2015-10-19 and closed on 2015-12-21. Thereafter, following the nominations process, the candidate slates comprising John Laprise, Desiree Miloshevic and Harish Pillay for the Organizational Members election, Olga Cavalli, Mohamed El Bashir and Andrey Kolesnikov for the Chapters election, were announced on 2016-02-22. The list of candidates was reconfirmed after an unsuccessful petition for an additional candidate on 2016-03-09.

As in past years a short biography of each candidate was posted on the Internet Society website. For the elections-discussion two forums – one for each group of the elections – were created on the Internet Society "Connect" platform. To start the initial discussion three questions by the Election Committee and the candidates' answers were put into the discussions forum before opening. The discussion forums were organized as groups requiring login. Login-credentials (=invitations) were send out to more than 780 people in the chapters forum and to over 330 from the OMAC group. Only around 70 of the Chapter Delegates and less than 30 of the Organizational Members accessed one of the discussion forums.

Forum activity was very low. After initial complaints it was decided to copy messages manually between the chapter-delegates email-list and the connect forum to be more inclusive. However, still with the effort only 42 messages could be seen on the Organizational Members forum and 31 messages to or from candidates were send to the Chapters elections forum and to the chapters-delegates list. Several emails on the delegates-list complained about missing more possibilities to discuss with candidates. Overall the conflict between the "Active campaigning . . . is discouraged" written in the election procedures and the wish for an open active discussion seems hard to bridge and achieve.

The renewed voter validation process both for Chapter Members as well as for Organizational Members provided good and timely results. There were still several questions about eligibility by some of the Organizational Members which were quickly resolved by staff.

The elections process went on without problems and smaller issues like changing voting representatives or updating voter's email-addresses during the process were handled without delay by Internet Society IT staff.

Voting closed on April 20th. No challenges were received by the President during the appeals period. The following persons were elected in the 2016 Trustees election (final results announced May 3rd):

Chapters

Olga Cavalli was elected by the Chapters receiving 38 out of the 79 casted votes. Each of the other candidates (and abstentions) received less than this number. For this election each Chapter had one vote.

A list of all Chapters eligible to vote in the election, indicating which Chapters exercised their voting privilege, is available on the chapters forum in Connect.

Organizations

Desiree Miloshevic was re-elected by Organizational Members receiving 202 weighted votes out of 240 weighted votes casted. Harish Pillay was elected by Organizational Members receiving 94 weighted votes out of the 240 weighted votes casted. Each of the other candidates (and abstentions) received less than this number. In this election, each Organizational Member could cast two votes and each of the votes had a weight of between 1 and 6 based on the membership category.

The Internet Engineering Taskforce (IETF)

Following the process documented in RFC 3677, the IAB selected and the IESG confirmed Richard Barnes to serve as Internet Society trustee.

Term of office

The term of office for all four of the new Trustees will be three years, commencing with the Internet Society's Annual General Meeting in June 2016.

Voting Statistics 2013-2016

The results of election participation over the last four years are as follows:

2016 election:
79 out of 114 Chapters (69 %) voted.
75 out of 132 Organizational Members (57 %) voted.
2015 election:
88 out of 105 Chapters (84%) voted.
74 out of 119 Organizational Members (62%) voted.
2014 election:
74 out of the (then) 100 Chapters (74%) voted.
87 of the (then) 150 Organizational Members (58%) voted.
2013 election:
72 out of the (then) 91 Chapters (79%) voted.
95 of the (then) 142 Organizational Members (67%) voted.

According to the above statistics, there was higher participation among Chapter Members than among Organizational Members in all of the elections.

The elections committee has to report that the percentage of voters this year, especially from the Chapters, was lower than in the previous years.

The feedback of this year's elections process was mostly positive, there were some initial remarks regarding the missing openness of the election discussion platform.

They high rate of voters (Organizational Members) who casted only one of their two votes (35 of the 75 voters) and the three voters selecting to abstain may indicate that the clarity of the voting procedure is not sufficient.

In order to further improve the Trustees election process we recommend that the 2017 Elections Committee consider the following for possible incorporation into the elections process:

- 1. Rethink the strong advice to "no campaigning" in favor of a more open presentation and discussion of candidates.
- 2. Continue with the forums on Connect or a similar platform (whatever tool is available).
- 3. Find a better (automatic) and more inclusive setting for interaction between email and discussion platform.
- 4. Use email lists in parallel (with manual copy if necessary) if no fully functional integration between discussion platform and email is available.
- 5. Be more open with the discussion platforms. Have id advertised more prominently. Use additional self-sign on in addition to the "invitation only" as was used this year.
- 6. Make the voting (multiple/two votes, weighted votes) more transparent for the voters. Add more descriptive text in voting invitations.

Special thanks has to go to the IT staff involved in the elections process (BigPulse voting system, Internet Society Website and Connect platform), all support was carried out perfectly and in time as everybody was responsive even on weekends.

Also a special Thank You has to go to our Board Liaison who provided the election committee with a perfect step by step detailed script for the election process and kept a precise timeline for the elections.

On behalf of the 2016 Elections Committee,

Hans Peter Dittler Chairman of the Election Committee 03 June 2016